Marriage License Requirements

Notice
Effective July 1, 2015, the new Marriage License/Ceremony fees are as follows:
Marriage License: $65.00
Marriage Ceremony (during office hours): $65.00
Marriage

Apply for Marriage Licenses between 8:30 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Monday thru Friday at:

Spartanburg County Courthouse
180 Magnolia Street
1st Floor, Suite 302
Spartanburg, SC 29306
Phone: 864-596-2556
  • Both parties must appear together and in person to apply for a marriage license.   If there are extenuating circumstances that make the appearance of both parties impossible, please call the Spartanburg County Probate Court at 864-596-2556 for assistance.
  • $65.00 filing fee for application (CASH ONLY, NON-REFUNDABLE). This fee must be paid before the application will be taken.
Age Requirements
Applicants 16 and 17 years of age
 
  • Birth certificate, a hospital or baptismal certificate which has been issued and dated within one year after birth, or a certified copy thereof.
    • Note: When an original birth, baptismal or hospital certificate is presented, a copy will be made and the original returned to the applicant. Certified copies of birth certificates cannot be returned to the applicant.
  • Parental consent of one parent.
  • State issued I.D. for the parent giving consent.
Applicants between the ages of 18 and 24
 
  • Documentary evidence which shall prove the age of said applicant (i.e. driver’s license, military identification card, certified copy of birth certificate, or current passport). 
Applicants 25 years of age and older
 
  • No proof of age is required
    • Note: Each applicant must reflect his/her Social Security Number on the application or the alien identification number assigned to resident aliens who do not have a Social Security Number. 
Time Requirement
 
  • South Carolina statute requires a twenty-four (24) hour waiting period after applying before the marriage license may be issued. The license cannot and will not be issued less than twenty-four (24) hours from the time of application (NO EXCEPTIONS).
  • After the waiting period has expired, either party may return to pick up the license. 
Fee Schedule
 
  • Marriage License: $65.00 (Cash Only)
  • Marriage Certificate (Certified Copy of Marriage License): $5.00 (Cash Only)
  • Marriage Ceremony (during office hours): $65.00 (Cash Only)
Marriage Ceremonies

  • Once the Marriage License is issued, a ceremony can take place in South Carolina only.  The license is not valid for marriages performed outside of South Carolina.
    • NOTE: After the Marriage License is issued, it never expires.
  • Pursuant to Section 20-1-20 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, "Only ministers of the Gospel, Jewish rabbis, officers authorized to administer oaths in this State, and the chief or spiritual leader of a Native American Indian entity recognized by the South Carolina Commission for Minority Affairs pursuant to Section 1-31-40 are authorized to administer a marriage ceremony in this State." 
    • Note:  Because Pastors, Notaries, etc., are not required to register with the Probate Court in order to perform marriage ceremonies, we do not have a list of persons who perform ceremonies available.
  • Marriage Ceremonies are performed by the Spartanburg County Probate Court by appointment only.  Appointments may be made at the time of application or by calling the Probate Court at 864-596-2556.
After Marriage Ceremony Performed

  • Please ensure that all three (3) Marriage Licenses are filled out correctly.
  • Return the licenses marked “PROBATE JUDGE” and “PROBATE JUDGE/DHEC” to this office.
  • The couple keeps the license marked “BRIDE/GROOM/SPOUSE.”
Marriage Records Search

  • Marriage Records are open to the public.
  • Marriage Records dating back to July, 1911, are available for viewing.
  • You must come into the Probate Court to view public records.