Local Emergency Planning Committee


LEPC Creation

The Superfund Amendment and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (SARA) has substantially increased the role of the public in an important environmental program. In accordance with SARA, each county in South Carolina was directed to establish a Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC), composed of certain elements of both government and private industry, as well as the media and local environmental organizations. SARA's implementation creates a significant opportunity for citizens and a major challenge to government and industry.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) is to protect the community from harmful and possibly life-threatening effects of a hazardous materials release by developing and implementing policies and procedures for complying with the Emergency Planning and Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA), Title III of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (SARA Title III).

The LEPC also gathers information to assist in the development of off-site plans for facilities required to report under SARA Title III. Information is then forwarded to the Spartanburg County Office of Emergency Management.


The LEPC consists of representatives from the following groups: Elected Officials, Law Enforcement, Emergency Management, Fire Service, Emergency Medical Service, Public Health, Hospitals, Transportation, Environmental Organizations, Community Groups, Facility Owner/Operators, and the Media.

Executive Committee

An Executive Committee shall be formed. The Executive Committee will consist of the LPEC Chairperson, LEPC Coordinator, and the Chairpersons for each Sub-Committee. The Executive Committee shall meet at the request of any member of the Committee.

The Executive Committee consist of the following people:

Doug Bryson, LEPC Chairperson
Robbie Swofford, LEPC Coordinator
SRHS, LEPC Health Subcommittee
Draxlmaier Reps, Hazard Vuln. Subcommittee
Robbie Swofford, Resource Subcommittee
Vacant, Transportation Subcommittee

Sub Committees

Each Committee member shall be appointed to a Sub-Committee by the LEPC chairperson. A chairperson shall be named for each sub-committee. Sub-Committees may be added or deleted at the discretion of the LEPC Chairperson or the LEPC Coordinator.


LEPC meetings are held quarterly and the locations vary.  Here are dates for 2021 (subject to change):

2023 - Time 10:30am - Locations TBD

  • March 1

  • June 7

  • Sept 6

  • Dec 6

If you need directions or have any questions pertaining to the LEPC, please do not hesitate to call our office at 864-595-5365.  If you wish to be added to the LEPC email distribution list, please email [email protected].  Thank you

 Tier II Reporting

Who is required to report?

Any fixed facility with an Extremely Hazardous Substance (EHS) at the Threshold Planning Quantity (TPQ), or 500 pounds, whichever is less, as identified in the US EPA Title III consolidated list of lists, is required to report. An example of the TPQ/500 pounds requirement is sulfuric acid, which has a TPQ of 1,000 pounds that drops to 500 pounds for Tier II reporting. 

Any fixed facility with 10,000 pounds, or more, of a material with a Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) that indicates an OSHA communicated health hazard, is required to report.

Report all materials as indicated in "Who is Required to Report" section above.

Reports are due no later than March 1st every year for materials maintained on-site during the previous calendar year.

Please Submit all Tier II reports via E Plan Logo