On Nov. 7, 2017 Spartanburg County voters approved through referendum a special one percent sales tax to be imposed in Spartanburg County for 6 years to raise the amounts specified for the following purposes.  Those projects are:

  • Replacement of current City of Spartanburg and Spartanburg County Judicial facilities;
  • Replacement of current City of Spartanburg City Hall and Spartanburg County Administrative Building;
  • Any funds remaining after construction would be used for road and bridge improvements.

The one cent sales tax will begin May 1, 2018 and end April 30, 2024. The sales tax cannot continue past April 30, 2024 unless reauthorized by the voters at another referendum.


Lisa Coleman, Procurement Director
Spartanburg County
366 N. Church Street
Main Level, Suite 1220
Spartanburg, SC 29303
[email protected]

South Carolina Department Of Revenue
Sales Tax PO Box 125
Columbia, SC 29214-0111
844-898-8542 Option 3
[email protected]